6/30/15

Once Upon A Cowboy-Whiskey Creek #3 {My Thoughts}

Once Upon a Cowboy (Whisper Creek, #3)Once Upon a Cowboy by Maggie McGinnis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book Info
ebook, 288 pages
Expected publication: June 30th 2015 by Loveswept
ISBN 1101884967 (ISBN13: 9781101884966)
series Whisper Creek #3
other editions (1)
Source:Netgalley EARC

Book Buy Links
Amazon
B&N

BOOK SYNOPSIS


In this sexy Whisper Creekromance for readers of Kristan Higgins, Susan Mallery, and Molly O’Keefe, a red-hot cowboy uses some Montana magic to give a reclusive beauty her happily ever after.

Yoga instructor Jessalyn Alcott radiates peace, calm, and serenity—on the outside. Inside, she still feels like the broken, desperate girl from the trailer park. She’s got dark secrets she can’t share, which is why she never lets her relationships go beyond the third date. But when she travels to the Whisper Creek dude ranch for a friend’s wedding, Jess is enchanted by a cowboy whose deep blue eyes, dimpled smile, and rock-hard body make it tough to remember why she keeps running scared.

Cole Driscoll has struggled to find his place on a family ranch where he’s always played second fiddle. His future might be uncertain, but he’s sure of one thing: He wants Jess by his side. Easier said than done. When it comes to getting close, she’s full of excuses, and he longs to fix the hurt he sees in her eyes. Now that she’s at Whisper Creek, there’s nothing he wants more than to break down the walls around her heart and heal her pain with the power of love.

My Thoughts


Jess started over 13 years ago, leaving behind a life that no child should have to live. Changing her name, going to college, starting her own business and generally building a life to be proud of. 2 years ago visiting Whisper Creek Montana for the first time where her friend Kyla met the eldest Driscoll brother, Kyla than fell in love and then got married while Jess and her other friend Haley attended the wedding.

Now a year later it is Haley who is marrying and once again Jess finds herself going to Whisper Creek, however before she leaves she is shocked to be faced once again with a past she longs to forget.

When it is revealed to reader what Jess is hiding it will make your heart hurt for what she went through as a child before finally escaping at age 16. It will also make you angry on Jess’s behalf, both as a child and as the traumatized adult she grew into.

Cole is a real sweetheart, lovely with children as well as those unsure or afraid of horses and riding. Best of all he has patience and understanding rather than acting abruptly when it comes to Jess as she has trust issues to overcome.

Easy flow, likable well developed characters, elements of suspense and drama, contemporary cowboy western romance that I enjoyed from beginning to end. Only wish now had read previous two books as would have loved to watch the series unfold from beginning for inhabitants of Whisper Creek.

[EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]
Photobucket
Places to find author:
GR WEBSITE BLOG FB TWITTER


Follow on Bloglovin
TransparentSignature

6/29/15

Misery's Way: A Kit Colbana World Story {My Thoughts}

Misery's Way: A Kit Colbana World StoryMisery's Way: A Kit Colbana World Story by J.C. Daniels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Book Info
Kindle Edition
Expected publication: June 22nd 2015 by Shiloh Walker, Inc.
ASIN B00VGP7ZOM
edition language English
series Colbana Files #4.5
other editions None found
Source:Netgalley EARC
Book Buy Links
Amazon B&N
BOOK SYNOPSIS
Her name is Frankie. At least, that’s what she calls herself. She looks human, but she’s no more human than she is a faith-healer. That doesn’t stop her from using her…more unique abilities to take care of certain needs. It’s those abilities that lead to a chance encounter with an unusual woman in Florida. It’s a chance encounter with fate that will set these two down a collision course with destiny. This short story is loosely connected to the Kit Colbana Files. Can be read as a stand-alone.
My Thoughts
The very fact that this was even remotely connected to one of my favorite Urban Fantasy series, The Colbana Files was an instant incentive to read the story. The character of Frankie is different in many ways from other leading female characters and at the same time she is also pretty much a carbon copy, as far as her abilities are concerned they are phenomenal and wish there really were such people who could do what Frankie does. I was excited to find that this book bridges a gap of time where we are left hoping against hope that Kit finally manages to overcome the traumas that she has gone through and come out stronger, I am thinking this story foreshadows exactly that and cannot wait to find out for sure when Shadowed Blade is released. However until then reading this novella set in the world of the series was a good way to get my “Kit Fix”. If you are a fan of The Colbana Files this is a must read before the next full length book Shadowed Blade, if you are not this is also a good stand alone with a main female character you will want to meet again! Bladed Magic
Book Info
ebook, 65 pages Published (first published March 16th 2014) original title Bladed Magic edition language English series Colbana Files 0.6 other editions (2)
Source:Netgalley EARC
Book Buy Links
Amazon B&N
BOOK SYNOPSIS
For the first time in her life, Kit Colbana’s life was going just fine. She had a nice, easy job. She’d managed to escape the not-so-loving attentions of a family who’d rather see her dead than look at her. She had a roof over her head and she didn’t have to fight for every little thing she had. Then she finds herself tangled up with a green-eyed witch by the name of Justin. He’s looking for somebody and for some bizarre reason, he seems to think she can help. All she has to do is say no, and she can go back to her safe little existence. That’s exactly what she needs to do and she knows it. Too bad she’s not very good at following her own advice. The events of this short story take place between A Stroke of Dumb Luck and Blade Song. It can be read as a stand-alone.
My Thoughts
“Bladed Magic” was a bonus read at the end of the NetGalley ARC for Misery's Way, one that I was gratified to find as it bridges the gap of time between the prequel “A Stroke Of Dumb Luck” and the first full length book “Blade Song” . Justin and Kit's initial relationship starts here and her acceptance of her abilities as well. Nice fast and easy novella that sets the stage for Kit quite nicely as well as truly explains her beginnings as a “finder” or investigator if one prefers.
[EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]
Photobucket
Places to find author:
GR WEBSITE BLOG FB TWITTER


Follow on Bloglovin
TransparentSignature

6/26/15

Frozen-Taken # 2 {My Thoughts}

FrozenFrozen by Erin Bowman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Book Info
Kindle Edition, 352 pages
Published April 15th 2014 by HarperTeen
original title Frozen
ASIN B00DB30K7G
series Taken #2
other editions (5)
Source:Kindle version borrowed from Public Library

Book Buy Links
Amazon
B&N

BOOK SYNOPSIS
The Heists were only the beginning.

Gray Weathersby escaped from the primitive town of Claysoot expecting to find answers, but what he discovered shook him to the core: A ruthless dictator with absolute power. An army of young soldiers blinded by lies. And a growing rebellion determined to fight back.

Now Gray has joined a team of rebels on a harsh, icy journey in search of allies who can help them set things right. But in a world built on lies, Gray must constantly question whether any ally—or enemy—is truly what they seem…

My Thoughts
Second book in Taken series picked up where first book Taken left off and did not engage me fully until it hit about a third of the way into the book.

This however was the book that sparked my interest in continuing with the next if and when get a chance to read Forged which will conclude the trilogy.

Finally have connected solidly with Gray and the others, it took the traumatic experiences that they went through in this one to really make me feel like what was happening was showing their respective characters to their best advantage. Gray especially has finally started to show signs of maturing, though he is still driven by his emotional reactions more often than not at times.

With several characters dead, an unexpected ally and a lot of luck Gray and the others find themselves now actually a part of the rebellion and on the frontline of the coming war.

It is a tossup to say the least that one does not know whether to laugh or cry when finishing this story.

I feel like the third book is one that will top the first two, at least it should with all the revelations in this one that came out and the jaw dropper twists that happen near the end really shook up the direction in which the last book will take us.

[Kindle version borrowed from Public Library]
Photobucket
Places to find author:
GR WEBSITE INSTAGRAM PINTEREST TUMBLR TWITTER


Follow on Bloglovin
TransparentSignature